Plans to support MVC 3 version?

Oct 19, 2011 at 6:52 PM

Do you have plans to support the MVC 3 version of NerdDinner?

Coordinator
Oct 19, 2011 at 10:37 PM

Good question. 

I converted NerdDinner to give a detailed sample using my Navigation for ASP.NET Web Forms project. I don't think the MVC 3 version would show anything new from a Navigation point of view.

However, I have been working on a conversion of Project Silk (http://silk.codeplex.com/) to use Navigation for ASP.NET Web Forms. Would you be interested in that?

Graham

Oct 20, 2011 at 2:13 AM

I am interested in the MVC 3 version because it uses jQuery Mobile., I looked at the code to find out how it switched to using jQuery Mobile when the browser is a mobile one. It uses the FindView function against a registered viewEngine. These are MVC specific stuff. I am still a WebForms developer. I was wondering how to do the same thing in WebForms in a clean way. I am not sure if your Navigation component helps in this.

Coordinator
Oct 20, 2011 at 9:06 AM

Once MVC 3 came out I did think about adding mobile specific configuration to Navigation project. However, I'm not convinced that loading in a different view for a mobile browser is useful. All you really need is to have a different master page (set this in Page's PreInit method) that adds mobile specific css and jQuery mobile.

Oct 20, 2011 at 4:36 PM